Skip to main content

Table 5 Missed injury classification

From: The effect of tertiary surveys on missed injuries in trauma: a systematic review

Missed injury type Description
Type I Before TTS or as result of TTS:
Injury missed at initial assessment (primary and secondary survey and emergency intervention), but detected within 24 hours, before or through formal TTS (i.e. delayed diagnosis at 24 hours)
(Injury missed at initial assessment)
Type II After TTS, during hospital stay:
Injury missed by TTS, detected in hospital after 24 hours.
(Injury missed at initial assessment and TTS)
Type III After TTS, after hospital discharge:
Injury missed during hospital stay including TTS, detected after hospital discharge.
(Injury missed at initial assessment and TTS and hospital stay)